Sad Songs Happily Played

Tuesday, July 15th, 2014

drew-kennedy-cd-cover-creamI’m happy to announce that on September 9th, 2014 I’ll be releasing my 7th album– Sad Songs Happily Played.

It’s a two-disc live recording that I didn’t even know I was making…

Everything felt good. It was a Friday night in November. The room, an old post office in League City, Texas, was full. The audience was kind and warm. I stood on a little stage, guitar strapped to my chest, and played my songs. I told stories. I played whatever popped into my head as the night progressed. I didn’t have a setlist or a plan– I just shot from the hip, which is what I usually do at my shows.

I didn’t find out that the tape had been rolling until after the evening was over.

I would have done a few things differently had I been planning to make a live record: I would have mic’d the crowd and I would have mic’d my guitar. The crowd noise that you can hear is coming through my vocal microphone. The guitar signal is coming straight out of my DI. These are minor complaints– one doesn’t trifle with happy accidents, after all.

This is a human recording. It’s not perfect, but that’s the nature of being human. I think I speed up and slow down here and there. I think I say “thanks” too quickly after every song– and in a weird way– but that’s what I did on this particular Friday night in November, the culmination of my 33 years, 8 months, and 5 days of life.

I think this is a good representation of who I am, as well as of my music and where it has taken me over the last third of those aforementioned years, months, and days.

I’ll be doing a few things leading up to the release, so keep your eyes open. Until then, I hope I see you at a show!



Leave a comment or contact me via Twitter @dk_music

  1. Simon Todd says:

    I need some more of your CD’s Drew after getting “Fresh Water..” from you in Fredericksberg a couple of years ago. So I check your tour list and see that you’re in Bandera on Oct 11th. As coincidence will have it, I’ll be in town, as we’re visiting Texas again from Northumberland, England, as we do most years now. I very much look forward to seeing you play again, and getting more of your music. Life is good!

  2. Joe Swatzell says:

    If you didn’t hear “thanks” quickly after every song– and in a unique, yet sincere way– I would question whether it was actually you or not.
    Looking forward to it!

  3. Dave says:

    This makes me happy.

  4. Fundraising Stalls for Grandpa Jones Historical Marker; Seeger Fest Begins Tomorrow; Drew Kennedy to Release Live Album - Engine 145
    […] Kennedy will release a two-disc live album called Sad Songs Happily Played on September […]
  5. Dan says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Who is that artist who drew the excellent picture?

  6. Rhonda Stowe says:

    Jamie and I were there that night. It was a wonderful concert – who knew that it would end up being an album! Now I can literally say… “I was there when Drew recorded this.” :) Very cool…

  7. Sad Songs Happily Played » drew kennedy
    […] For more about how this album came into being check out this blog post. […]
  8. Derek Air says:

    Living in the UK this is available only as a download. How can I get my hands on a physical copy? Your website only seems to ship in the US.

  9. drewkennedy says:

    I bet ships internationally– check them out

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Wide Listener


Enter your email address below to stay up to date on all things (musical, of course) Drew Kennedy.